Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Upcoming Indy 500's on ESPN Classic - Set your DVR's

May 10 – Monday

3 p.m. (1987) – Mario Andretti leads a field-high 170 laps, but Al Unser, who started 20th in the Cummins/Holbert Turbo leads the final 18 laps.

May 17 - Monday

3 p.m. (1990) – Emerson Fittipaldi sets the pace, but Arie Luyendyk battles Bobby Rahal in the later stages and takes the victory.

5 p.m. (1992) – Al Unser Jr. wins the first of his two at the Brickyard, holding off Scott Goodyear (who started 33rd) and his father, Al (who started 22nd).

May 24 – Monday

1 p.m. (1991) – Rick Mears wins from the pole, his fourth 500 Mile Race victory.

3 p.m. (2008) – Scott Dixon holds off a hard-charging Vitor Meira by 1.7 seconds for the victory that set up his series championship run.

May 29 – Saturday (day before the race)

Noon (1971) – Al Unser in the Johnny Lightning car starts fifth, leads 103 laps and beats Peter Revson to the checkered flag.

2 p.m. (1981) – Bobby Unser holds off Mario Andretti for the victory.
4 p.m. (2001) – Helio Castroneves surprises everyone by climbing the fence after winning his first.

6 p.m. (2002) – Helio Castroneves wins his second from the 13th starting position.

8 p.m. (2009) – Helio Castroneves wins his third.

10 p.m. (2005) – Dan Wheldon prevails. Rookie Danica Patrick becomes the first woman to lead laps in the history of the race.

No comments: