Monday, July 20, 2009

Indianapolis Motor Speedway President Resigns

News out of Speedway, Indiana today is that Indianapolis Motor Speedway President Joie Chitwood has resigned today. Chitwood has been involved with the IRL since it’s inception in 1996. Chitwood has served in various roles throughout his time with the Speedway, most recently as President since 2004. Chitwood's last day will be Aug. 6. He said he began considering new challenges after last year's inaugural MotoGP race at the Speedway and the start of the Centennial Era, a celebration of the first 100 years of the facility.
In a statement, Chitwood said he plans to return to his native Florida.
Jeff Belskus, who became chief executive officer of Indianapolis Motor Speedway Corp. on July 1, will assume daily responsibilities at the Speedway. The statement released by track officials said it was unclear if Chitwood's position will be filled.

No comments: